17 October 2019 ,  —


Global Workforce Health & Safety Best Practices Driving ‘Sustainable Futures, Superior Growth’ Celebrated at Gala Event in Shanghai

Celebrating and sharing insights into best practice in workforce health and safety around the globe, the winners of the 2019 Duty of Care Awards were announced at a gala event in Shanghai on Thursday, 17 October.

The Awards took place following the Duty of Care Summit, hosted by the International SOS Foundation, the only global conference tailored to professionals responsible for the health and safety of mobile employees. Under this year’s theme of ‘Sustainable Futures, Superior Growth’ the awards honour and share best practices of organisations and individuals making a significant contribution to protecting their people while travelling or working remotely. Judges reviewed entries representing 28 sectors across 31 countries.

The winners, by category, are:

NOTE: Commentary on the winners, judges’ comments and commended below

In addition, PetroChina Halfaya, the leading global Chinese oil and gas organisation’s concession in Iraq, was bestowed with a special honour presented by Dr Pascal Rey-Herme, Co-founder and Group Medical Director, International SOS. This unique accolade is in reference to its on-going commitment to extremely high standards in protecting its employees in extreme complex and challenging environments and in supporting the belt and road initiative. This is spearheaded at senior level within the organisation and is an integral part of its success as a business.


Kai Boschmann, Executive Director of the Awards, comments, “With entries from technology giants to NGOs, educational institutions to mining conglomerates, this year’s esteemed panel of judges1 had a wealth of best practice across industries, and the globe, to assess. The winners truly drive innovation in Duty of Care, which is increasingly recognised as a critical building block in sustainable and resilient organisations. We are pleased to be able to bring these examples to other organisations and drive forward standards in Duty of Care. Congratulations go out to all our winners, runners up, honourable and special mentions, and all entrants. All who are demonstrating a clear commitment in supporting their workforce.”


John B. Thompson, Division President of International Accident and Health at Chubb says, “Employees are the core asset of any business across sectors and geographies. Ensuring their safety and wellbeing needs to be a critical element of business continuity planning. Chubb believes in the value of effective Duty of Care. As such, we recognise the importance of rewarding best practice in this crucial and evolving area and commend all those who entered the Awards.”
To learn more visit


The Summit and Awards are proud to have the supporting sponsorship of the following organisations in order to make this event possible: Chubb (Gold sponsor), CWT, Marsh, Workplace Options (WPO), Altour, Everbridge, and Vismo.



Notes to Editors

About International SOS Foundation - Ambassadors for Duty of Care

The International SOS Foundation is an independent, non-profit organisation, established in 2011 with registered charity status. The International SOS Foundation commissions and shares research and best practice for a greater understanding and mitigation of risks in areas of Duty of Care for the global workforce. Key topics supported via thought-leadership programmes are: risk management, sustainability, prevention and work health. For more information:



  • Franck Baron, Chairman, PARIMA (Pan Asia Risk & Insurance Management Association)
  • Dr Walter Eichendorf, President, German Road Safety Council – DVR
  • Dr Vincent Ho, President, Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH)
  • Tim Janes, Chairman, Business Continuity Institute (BCI)
  • Greeley Koch, Vice President, HRS and previous Executive Director of the Association of Corporate Travel Executives (ACTE)
  • James McAlpine, Senior Partner for Markets and Partnerships, Control Risks
  • Kevin Myers, President, IALI (International Association of Labour Inspection) and Convener of the Travel Risk Management ISO Standard
  • Liu Peng, Deputy Director-Genera, China Enterprise Association and Executive Director, UNGC Network China
  • Wendy Stachowiak, Co-Chair, Global Risk Committee by the Global Business Travel Association (GBTA)
  • Dr Xiaoguang Wang, Director, Beijing Rongzhi Corporate Social Responsibility Institute
  • Dr Changhui Zhao, Chief Country Risk Analyst, China Eximbank